2018 SGM Minutes

International Association of Youth Mental Health

Minutes from the Adjourned Special General Meeting

Tuesday 6th of March 2018
Orygen, The National Centre of Excellence in Youth Mental Health
Melbourne, Australia

1. Welcome

Meeting opened at 5:33pm.


Members present:

Craig Hodges – Secretary

Genesis Lindstrom

Jo Fitzsimons

Nicholas Fava

2. Actions from 2017 SGM

Craig Hodges noted the impact of difficulties in achieving quorum on decision-making ability at the IAYMH, as the current constitution requires a quorum that we have not been able to reach. The IAYMH have since received advice that decisions can still be made by members at an adjourned Special General Meeting if a quorum is not reached within 30 minutes. 

3. Voting on new constitution and resolutions

Craig Hodges noted that 12 proxies have been received, all in support of the amendments.


Motion: That the proposed rules for the International Association for Youth Mental Health be adopted to replace the existing Model Rules

Moved by Jo Fitzsimons

Seconded by Genesis Lindstrom

Motion carried unanimously.


Motion: That once committee positions are declared vacant, current committee members are reappointed to fill the vacant positions until the new rules are ratified by Consumer Affairs Victoria and an election can be held

Moved by Genesis Lindstrom

Seconded by Jo Fitzsimons

Motion carried unanimously.




4. New IAYMH Executive and next steps

Craig Hodges highlighted that these changes to the constitution allow for a new executive structure, which includes a President, two Vice-Presidents, a Secretary, a Treasurer and ordinary members. One-third of the committee will comprise of people under 25. Expanding geographic representation will also be a large focus of the new executive. A new executive structure is likely to be in place by May, and will include an electronic voting process.

8. Meeting Closed

Craig Hodges thanked members and closed the meeting.


Meeting closed at 6:10pm.